The Weird World of Writing


Being a writer is like having twenty people screaming at you all the time.  It’s exhausting to write all day with all those voices vying for a spot.  However, it is one of the few times, hearing voices isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

However, sometimes characters do things that even we writers do not understand or intend.  In Fortified Dreams, Eric Clachan has actually hijacked a few scenes.  So has Patterson.

I finished it the first week of February.  Then I went back and started reading it, like I always do.  It wasn’t just Eric and Patterson that had stolen the show.  Lots of things were happening, sometimes the leaps of logic to get to the bad guy was unfathomable.

I went back to fix those issues and added 2 more chapters, then 3 more, then another 2, then a few more.  Now I realize just how incomplete Fortified was… I’m probably ten chapters from being done… Maybe…  It may turn out to be the longest Dreams book yet.

Aside from my usual blood, guts, and gore, this one has a very intense mystery to figure out.  One that you will be introduced to during Mutilated Dreams in just 5 days.  The words needed to discover the plot flow like manna from Heaven, but there are a lot of them.  When I have the time to sit down and write, the story comes in a tidal wave, pushing itself along.

And those pesky characters keep doing things I don’t intend or expect.  Believe it or not, when I lose control, as I have with this book, the tone and story change a little.  Aislinn can become a little darker, the minor characters can become major ones, the death toll rises astronomically, the books get longer, the plot becomes increasingly complicated… It only happens on rare occasions; Elysium Dreams, Summoned Dreams, Belladonna Dreams, and now, Fortified Dreams.

Now back to adding words to Fortified…

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. We really haven’t had too much interaction with Eric so I know I’m looking forward to getting to know him better. Patterson is a hoot and I love spending time with him. Especially if there is going to be any interaction with Aislinn, together they are very entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

