I Am Not Going To Apologize


Believe it or not, there are bullies even in the writer communities.  These bullies like to pick on writers that are indies or write outside the expected norms.  I’ve been a victim, but no more.

I refuse to be ashamed of being an indie.  It was a choice I got to make and I love it!  My only bosses are those that give me money to read my books. I write and publish what I want to write and publish.  I do not require some editor-in-chief looking over my novels and telling me what needs to be changed.  If it sucks, my readers let me know.

Not everyone gets to make that choice, some have to be indies.  I know several who are just as good as any NYTimes best seller.  As a matter of fact, there are a few that I will buy over NYTimes best selling authors that I love because I love the indie better.  Two authors I know are working on getting their first novels out.  I’ve read them already.  I liked them.  I can’t wait for the world to read them.

I do not write romance.  I can’t be pigeon-holed into that group of women who want to write in one specific genre but end up with love stories and mating for life backgrounds because that sells books (and trust me, it does sell books).  I do not want to write romance.  Once upon a time, a contract I was offered required that Aislinn Cain have love interests.  I didn’t read any further, it was not going to happen.  I sent them a thank you note and returned their unsigned contract.

There are other books with kissing and heavy panting.  I prefer mine with a little blood and gore.  And if there is any heavy panting, it’s because Aislinn has given chase to some schmuck who has bitten off more than he can chew.

I will not apologize for either of these things.  They are my choices and I am happy with my choices.  Obviously, enough readers are happy with my choices that I can do this for a living.

So… 😛

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Stephanie Hancox

     /  February 19, 2016

    I love your books! As I believe you know, I was a little skeptical to begin with, but am a huge fan now! Keep up your great work and stay true to yourself! All my love!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. I personally love the fact that I can pick up one of your books and not have to worry about there being an explicit romance I have to put up with to get to the action in your stories. I read your books for the action, suspense, quirky people and character development as the fight between “good” and “evil” is waged. A romance would take away from Aislinn’S story in my opinion and you should never have to apologize for what you do with YOUR characters.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Teresa Vogt

     /  February 20, 2016

    She may not need a love interest, buta near miss couldn’t hurt.. nice dressed out dinner and dancing while trying to find the right bad guy, then when he wants to get frisky she joins in, and when the spice starts to really heat up, light bulb moment and she winds up cuffing him to the bed with a gag while she dashes after the real bad guy… when they get a call the next day from the hotel she’d been in she opps forgot to go let him loose.. that would be on par with the toilet seat mishap.. My cat got up in the rafters somehow, the little imp can get in the strangest spots like behind the flue in the fireplace..anyway she was above the shower and lifting the ceiling tile I could finally figure out where the meows were coming from.. Then how to get her down.. and yea remembering the toilet seat .. I got a a board big enough to not break, bend or slip in before climbing up to get her.. You my dear deviously delightful mischief making mind can cause phobias in otherwise semi normal people..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,459 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

