Weird Me Admissions


(There’s nothing terribly deep on this list)

  • Sometimes I wonder if people have confused my books with someone else’s when they leave reviews.
  • Sometimes I wake up thinking I’ve sold a bunch of books and go to check sales and find I’ve only sold like 3.  It’s kinda depressing when that happens.
  • Occasionally, I think it would be nice to leave my house for work, then I remember that I actually hate leaving my house for most reasons, work included.
  • I will spend all day creating characters, only to realize the next day that I have no where to put them.
  • I write my most brilliant stuff in the car… so it never gets written down.
  • I cannot use voice memos as a way to store ideas because I hate the sound of my own voice.  So, while it’s playing, I’m not paying attention to the ideas, I’m trying to figure out ways to make me sound less like me.
  • I really do hate everything ever written by Tolstoy.  It isn’t an act, it isn’t for giggles, I really do hate it and it’s an obsessive, weird hate that will make me froth at the mouth as I spew on about all the reasons I hate his writing. (I also tend to have melodramatic hand gestures and body postures while expressing my desire to go back in time and chop off his fingers before he learned to write)
  • I wish I could write faster (and type faster).
  • I despise mice (all mice) almost as much as Tolstoy, but don’t mind domesticated rats.
  • Feeding my dog treats can sometimes gross me out (like giving her beef kneecaps).  It can also be annoying, since she really likes to hide anything that might have a bone in it.
  • When a person is kidnapped and begins to sympathize and cooperate with the kidnapper in real life, it’s called Stockholm Syndrome.  In a book, it’s called romance (I’ve semi-skimmed three books with this plotline just in February)… Also, if I ever wake up to a stranger in my bedroom, I don’t care how sexy he is, there is no way I’m going to have sex with him.  There is a better than average chance that I’m going to stun gun the shit out of him (and with a little luck, Lola will attack him) – (semi-skimmed two books where this was the opening scene of a chapter where the stranger and the obviously out of her tiny little mind woman did this – Also, pretty sure this was one of Ted Bundy’s things, of which there were many, and he was charming and attractive… I still don’t think women were throwing themselves at him when he broke into their houses).
  • Sometimes, I do read things that are pretty much the equivalent of self torture.  I consider myself a reading masochist as a result. (See above)
  • I hate self help books.  I have been given several over the course of my life and I always come away with the realization that I have no desire to help myself be whatever that book wants me to be.
  • My favorite “Float” is orange sherbert in orange soda.  My favorite “Adult Float” is Coca-Cola and Bailey’s (although, it looks like someone yakked in the cup when you finish – you definitely want to drink it with a straw).
  • I can write a novel and watch TV or have a conversation, but you let me pick up a good book and I tune out the world (it is the only time I do this).  People have been known to get inches from me and shout my name to get my attention.
  • Thankfully, I have very little startle reflex, so I don’t jump when they do this.  However, it’s also why if a movie makes me jump, I put it on the list of “Good Horror Movies”.  There are movies on that list that everyone else hates, but that’s ok.
  • If I buy a book and find it disappointing (like I did last night), I feel dejected.  This is worse if it’s an indie or a non-fiction book.  If it is an indie non-fiction, it will damn near make me cry… It also frustrates me, because books like that are why indies are still considered amateurs by most of the community (last night’s book was less than 10,000 words).
  • I have only read a few of my own books; The Dysfunctional Chronicles, Dark Cotillion, Tortured Dreams, and Cannibal Dreams.  They were all read for the purpose of researching the next book in the series.  However, I have vowed that at some point, I will go back and read every book I’ve ever written, I just don’t know when.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Angela

     /  February 11, 2016

    Isn’t it called Stockholm syndrome when you identify with your kidnapper? Munchhausen by proxy is when mother’s (or whoever) hurts their child to get attention and sympathy for themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Kimberly

     /  February 11, 2016

    I think you mean Stockholm Syndrome, not Munchausen’s Syndrome. Munchausen is a factitious disorder. A mental illness where the person causes themselves to be sick or pretends to be sick. They deliberately produce and exaggerate symptoms. The primary goal is to obtain sympathy, nurturance, and attention.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

