The Short Story Project


For several years now, I’ve been working on a short story project.  Aside from my flash fiction horror shorts, I’ve been writing short stories with the serial killers mentioned in the Dreams & Reality books along with stories that star either Alex Zeitzev or Kenzie Reynolds.

These are the serial killers that never get their own book, including Eric Clachan and the day he climbed to the top of the building and began shooting people.  Since, Alex and Kenzie are both private detectives who have lives just as screwy as Nadine’s, it only seemed fitting that they should get some back stories, side stories, and adventures of their own.

I have begun compiling all of these.  I have a cover in the works.  I have a title.  I’m going to be releasing them.

The reason for the release is that Fortified Dreams will take place in the Fortress.  Aislinn Cain is going to be dealing with a lot of serial killers.  Serial killers who have their own stories.  Serial killers never mentioned, but have history with Cain and the SCTU.

Originally, I thought I’d just release this hodge-podge of serial killer stories as a collection by themselves.  But is that fair to my other writings?  I might not always be pounding out a novel or novella, but very few days go by when I actually do not write.  From flash fiction pieces to stories that strike my fancy with characters I’ve already created happen all the time.

Plus, if I just release the serial killer stories, it will short, really short and I would probably never publish the others.  I want to make sure all my readers are getting the biggest bang for their buck.  Besides, they have an element of horror in them, even Alex and Kenzie’s stories (it’s amazing what those two discover at times, especially since they share the fictitious world that Aislinn Cain inhabits).

So, I’m going to put them together as a single collection of tales.  It should be interesting. As soon as I have the cover, I’ll show it to you.  Not sure when I will have it ready for release, but it should be soon.  I want to get it published before Fortified Dreams so that you understand who Deacon Priest and Bella and a host of others are…

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

