Um, Try That When You Aren’t Stoned


So, my migraine from last week required an extra special dose of insane treatment.  I was given a whole lot of drugs and sent home.  Some were injected into my hip, others were given to me in prescription bottles.

And I started taking them.  I’m not even sure I know what all of them are at this point.  Mobic, Percocet (that one I know!), Tramadol (know that one too!), and something with a weird long name that I can’t read in the dark.

Now, I’ve taken Percocet and Tramadol in the past without any problems.  However, I started taking this batch and my brain fizzled out.  Whatever was supposed to come out of my mouth was a jumbled mess and I wasn’t doing much better with my fingers.  Actually, my texting skills went away completely, as if I had texting aphasia.

Of course this did not stop me from texting or from talking.  Quite the opposite.  I talk a lot more and feel the need to text more when I’m on narcotics.  I don’t know why, but I do.  Normally, there’s some disconnect between my brain and the implements of communication, but not enough for it to be an issue.

This time though… Wow, even I was reading my text messages and wondering if I knew what I was talking about.  Some of it was in German.  Some of it in English.  Some of it might have been in an imaginary language.  So, I got to looking Friday evening as I popped down another Percocet and there was the problem.

I’m a lightweight when it comes to narcotics.  I’ve never had more than 5mg Percocet tablets prescribed before and here I was popping 10mg tablets.  Holy crap!  Mixed with the blah-blah-blah-blah (it might have hydrochlorate at the end of it) and the Tramadol, not only did I not have a filter between my mouth and brain (or brain and fingers), but I didn’t have the mental competency to form coherent thoughts.

Saturday, I started cutting those puppies in half.  I’m still working on getting rid of the migraine, but it’s much better.  My problem seems to be that they go on for so long that it takes a few days worth of meds to get rid of them and then I have to hope I don’t get slammed by a rebound migraine.

Somehow, I was still able to write Friday.  I even went back through it to make sure I hadn’t scribbled gibberish and it was actual, logical, coherent thoughts.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Wow…hope that the migraine goes away soon and take care taking the meds:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

