An Editor, A Proofreader, and Plants


I know that doesn’t exactly make sense for a blog post title, but it will.

 

I have a friend who is a bit of a conspiracy theorist when it comes to indie authors.  It is their belief that about 1/3 of all freelance editors, proofers, and cover artists are actually planted by the publishing industry to ensure that indies will never get the quality books that they offer.  To this end, they do their job, but just enough to not face lawsuits for breech of contract or fraud and they charge rates that are comparable to other freelance editors, proofers, and cover artists, so they aren’t price gauging and it doesn’t look suspicious.

It’s a seductive theory and would explain a lot.  I’ve had some terrible results with proofreaders, editors, and cover artists in the past.  One cover artist was so bad that the stock image company she used contacted me to make me have my covers pulled because she had not used the correctly licensed version.  I was not the only author they contacted either.  The woman I spoke to informed me that several authors were being contacted.  In order to keep herself from getting in a lot of trouble, she had turned over the names of all the authors she had done covers for…

And I’ve had some pretty sketchy proofers and editors.  Like the editor that agreed to do the Dreams series and then informed me after the fact that she had not been able to read any of the graphic parts.  Or the proofreader who skipped all the intense moments in the Strachan series, particularly the ones where they were running around with missing body parts or no skin.  We are talking about huge chunks of my books here.  They aren’t all blood and gore, but they have a fair amount.

Thankfully, I have finally found a wonderful cover artist, an excellent editor, and a great proofreader.  None of them could be referred to as “plants” by my friend.

However, the important part is that my proofreader is running a special.  Krissy Smith has proofed all 5 Dysfunctional Chronicles and will be working on Elysium Dreams very soon.  She’s also on my list to do any other Dysfunctional Chronicles and we are talking about some of my back catalogue mangled by others who have put their claws into it.

Since she is having a special, I’m giving her my recommendation to all the authors looking for a proofreader.  She (and her special) can be found on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ksmithproofs  Go check her out!  She’s good at her job and definitely works for the indie author.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

