Because I Don’t Want Everyone To Hate Me?


I went through the first round of edits on Thursday night and sent it back to the editor for round two.  As I sat there, thinking about it, I realized I had done a very bad thing.

The book I sat out to write is there.  It now has character backstories, personal growth and development, struggles with inner demons, battles with monsters, and everything that a good book should…

Mutilated Dreams is a cliffhanger.

Within minutes of making this realization, I began work on the next Dreams book, because while I sort of enjoy making readers wait, I don’t want them to rise up and revolt.

Which is a definite possibility.  Even I went “Wow, I ended it there?”

So, I considered changing it and decided that would be unfair to the book.  Three out of ten isn’t a terrible average for cliffhangers, right?

However, book 11 may have a problem.  The plot is going great.  It’s all worked out with lots of little surprises and battles.  The writing is going fantastic.  The naming… Well… Hmmm…

I’m ten thousand words into book 11 and it doesn’t have a title.  It doesn’t even have a working title.  There isn’t even a title hint in the book as of yet.  I’m just not sure what the hell to call this one and Unknown Dreams just doesn’t have a great ring to it.  Usually by now, I have some thoughts on it… However, it’s still called Unknown Dreams, even the folder it’s being stored in is called Unknown Dreams.

On the flip side, I am getting very excited about Mutilated Dreams.  As soon as the last round of edits get done, it’s off to the betas.  It will go on pre-sale 20 January.  I was originally going to release it on 16 March, but… I may not force everyone to wait that long.  We’ll see if the next book continues to flow & what the betas think of Mutilated.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. That is a dilemma – have you picked out the cover images? Perhaps there is something in the cover that will inspire a title – perhaps you should send a sample paragraph or chapter to your betas to see if anything about it gives them a title suggestion – just a thought

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I’m kinda thinking if I have no title by the middle of February, I’ll send the first 5 chapters of the book to my betas and see what they can come up with…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

