Welcome to the Digital Age


It would appear that I am not great at using the new WordPress site… My double post yesterday was supposed to be today, but hey, what’s a girl to do?  Besides, this is rather informal, I don’t even fret over my grammar (or fat fingering of keys).

I dragged my dart league into the 21st century this week with online stats!  I would love to pat myself on the back for that, but ultimately, it was laziness that made me do it.  However, it got me thinking.

Mutilated Dreams has seen its first round of edits completed.  The track changes feature in Microsoft Office combined with email is an amazing thing.  Where once it took weeks or months (and postage fees) to do this, now it can all be done with buttons.

Which is what has given rise to the Independent Author.  Us writers have had the ability to self publish for decades, but it was never worth the time, energy, effort, and money.  Now, once I finish a book, I can have it ready for publication in a month (less, if I decide to ignore my beta readers).  Print on demand has become cheap as hell with no upfront costs (aside from editing, formatting – if you pay one -, and cover designs).  Ebooks are just as easy and you’ve already shelled out the upfront money.

Ebook listing emails have become popular, so for some cash and a few minutes of time, your ebook can be sent out to hundreds of readers (or millions, depending on where you advertise).  Book tours can be done from your couch, in your pajamas (which is how I like to do everything).

With a little typing and the push of a button, we can interact with readers as close as our hometown or as far away as the other side of the pond or the bottom of the Earth (Australia for me, because I don’t think penguins read ebooks).

We can make an honest, decent living from it.  We can also provide opium for the masses in the form of words.  And we can do it on the cheap!  As a reader, I will buy ebooks I’m only partially sure I’ll like for $3.99 or less.

Finished your book at 11 pm, but not yet ready for bed?  Download another ebook and start diving into a whole new world.

Technology has pros and cons, but most of the time, I’m thanking the creators of today’s technology for allowing me to blog (or write a book) in my pajamas!

(One day, I’m going to provide a photo post of nothing but my pajamas)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Yes! Could not agree more – especially when it’s midnight and I’ve finished book 1 of a series and desperately want to dive into book 2 – digital age is a fabulous thing to be a part of

    Like

    Reply
  2. Shannon Watz

     /  January 8, 2016

    I agree! Everything is done better on the couch in your PJs!! If I could live in my PJs I would but my husband does frown on pink fuzzy pants with purple reindeer on date night. What gives? I promise if I am ever lucky enough to beta read for you I will pick my cutest most comfortable PJs to read in!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Comfy pajamas are a must in my life… Instead of casual Fridays, maybe work places should adopt pajamas Fridays. However, it would require restrictions.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

