Feeling Guilty


Everyone is entitled to a day (or night) off once in a while.  Mutilated Dreams was sent to the editor on 6 January.  So, the night of 6 January, I didn’t write.

And I feel guilty for that.

The problem is the limbo that exists between written manuscript and edited manuscript.  Frankie is good at what she does, but she needs a few days to do it.

So, for a few days after I have shipped (emailed, let’s be real) my finished work off to be graced by her Red Pen of Destruction, I don’t know what to do.

I could start the next book I intend to write, but I know in two or three days, I’m going to have to stop and go through her edits.  Then I’m going to send it back to her to check my changes for crappy spelling, grammar, and my super power of losing my train of thought.  She’s going to have it for a few more days and then I’ll get it back again… at which point it goes to the beta readers for more reading, editing, etc.

This means for the next 7 days, give or take, I would be writing one book and editing a second (or waiting, which might actually be worse than the editing itself).  This kills my desire to start a new book.

But I want to write.  I’ve been going so well lately.  It’s like my creative batteries got jolted back to life and are running on full charge.  I could be producing 9,000+ words a day.  Until that edit comes back…

Any authors want to weigh in on what they do while they wait?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Not an author but there is marketing stuff you can be doing while waiting that is tied to the new book – designing things for the book that would also give you some creative outlet

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh! The Lovley Lola bought an advert yesterday! I don’t know what or how much she spent because it takes them 48 hours to process transactions…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

