Officially 2016


I spent some time tonight trying to decide what I wanted to be doing at the stroke of midnight.  I could open a novel and start writing on one that has been sitting on a shelf for a while.  I could finish my edits to Mutilated Dreams.  I could start a brand new novel.  I could do none of these things and instead curl up in bed next to my SO and Lola, if she stays in our bed, and wait for the stroke of midnight and the New Year’s Kiss.  I could turn on a favorite show and make sure an episode that encapsulated life was playing and give it some symbolic meaning. Or perhaps turn over a new life, if just for the night, and open a bottle of water (since I’m on antibiotics there will be no alcohol during my New Year’s festivities) instead of a soda.

I could do any or all of these things and it would not matter.  While the year is bound to bring some surprises, my 2016 is mostly planned, plotted, and ready to go… like a novel.

So instead, may the year bring you blessings and heal the wounds of 2015.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. nicole

     /  January 1, 2016

    I would like to thank you for the Dream series. I read a lot but there are few books that actually make me forget whats going on in the real world. I just signed up for your email thingy and getting a message tonight kinda made this whole new years a happy time for me. I may have been around a bunch of people but the only time i was actually happy tonight was getting your email and kissing my dog when i got home. thank you for being a good writer.
    nicole

    Like

    Reply
  2. I hope you had a great night and that you just relaxed and took care of you! Hope 2016 brings a more relaxed year for Lola….lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

