New Year


Let’s be honest, I can make as many New Year’s resolutions as my little writer brain can come up with… The safe bet is that I won’t last a week.  And that’s if the resolution is easy.  Hard ones; I’d go with less than 24 hours.  I don’t like change and resolutions require change, to something, usually myself.  I’ve never been very interested in improving myself either.  I remember one year I got a book on relationships and I managed to read it and then decided if all that was necessary to make a romantic relationship work, I was out.  Thankfully, all that’s really necessary is honesty and communication… I can be honest to a fault (does this make my butt look big?  It makes it look like we could land the Mars Rover on it.)  And I’m not good at holding things in.

But I digress… Where was I?  Oh yes, the dreaded New Year’s Resolutions.  There is a perfectly good reason to make a resolution at the stroke of Midnight on New Year’s.  It’s all about ushering out the old and bringing in the new; including the new and improved you.  However, I’m familiar with the old, unimproved me.  I can try to quit smoking and lose more weight, but honestly, I’m not going to put a whole lot of time, energy, and effort into it.  There are other things to be done, like playing video games, watching crappy TV, reading books, and even writing a few – all of which I can do fat and smoking a cigarette in the old, unimproved me.  I should do these things for health reasons and I know that.  But I catch colds and shit just walking out of my house, there’s a good chance Bubonic Plague will get me before some of the more serious ways to go.  (Right now, I have Influenza A, a sinus infection, and an inner ear infection… how does that even happen?!?  Yes, I got my flu shot, which is why I’m not puking my guts up, but that’s about all I’m not doing)

Anyway, no resolutions for me.  Instead, I have some goals for 2016.

Goal #1:  Write More!  There are those that believe I’m some sort of writing machine.  Yes, there are days when I tack 10,000 words onto a novel.  I once sat down and wrote a novella in a day.  But that is not everyday.  As a matter of fact, those days have become rare.  I’m not flexing my writing muscles like I used to.  Part of it is change; Lola still hates the computer and I have to spend time outside with her playing, time that I would have spent writing.  I’m playing in more dart tournaments instead of just attending.  I used to write a little while I was there, but now I don’t.  Most of the time, I don’t even drag along my laptop.  Then there are migraine days when the last thing I want to do is looking at a computer.  And sick days, like having the flu, a sinus infection, and an inner ear infection all at the same time (or shingles which are horrendously awful).

Goal #2: Play more darts.  Not just in league, but at tournaments.  I had a great showing at a recent tournament in Springfield.  If I played more, I’d have those a little more often.

Goal #3: Every Month Should Be Like NaNo.  There is no reason I can’t write 50,000 words every month.  I don’t have a job other than writing books.  I should be able to achieve 2,700 words a day, every day of every month, for an entire year.  I have come to the realization that books sell books.  I can run $800 a month in adverts and it will raise my book sells a little bit every time one of those adverts run, but writing more books actually sells more books.  It isn’t a complicated formula to figure out.  I don’t know why it took so long to dawn on me.  However, each time a new reader gets hooked on a series of my books, that’s more sales each time I publish a new one in the series.  Now, I’ve still got to hook readers and I realize that, but having good quality books available for them to buy after they’ve gotten hooked, well that’s just common sense.  Plus, I have a challenge in 2017 to publish one book a month, every month.  That means I’m going to need to start 2017 with a few novels already written, edited, and beta-read.  I can write some as I go, but I’m going to need a few under the belt to begin.  So, 2016 is going to require me to treat every month like NaNo.

Goal #4: Keep dying the grey.  This is my one vanity goal.  I hate having grey hair.  I don’t care how old I look, I just don’t want my hair to look that age too.  Besides, my grey is actually a mix of white and grey.  If I get too much of it, camera flashes will start creating haloes around my head and I’m certainly not worthy of such a thing.

Goal #5: Be me.  This seems like it should be self-evident.  Aren’t I always me?  Um, no.  I’m incredibly good at being diplomatic, occasionally to a fault.  This one has really bitten me in the ass the last 18 months or so.  It nearly stopped me writing.  But I’m over it and I’m done being diplomatic.  I have spoken my mind to a few people upon the subject who were directly involved and given them something to think about… Now, I’m good to go.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,458 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

