Yes, I Read Your Reviews


I admit it, I read the reviews left for my books.  Not so I can banish anyone, but to see everyone’s reactions.  Sometimes I wonder “did they get it?”  Reviews help me answer that question.

To date, I have done 3 really strange Dreams & Reality novels; Mercurial, Summoned, and Belladonna.  I do not expect them to be loved and at times, even liked.  Even the most dedicated readers sometimes scratch their head’s over them and that’s great… it’s intended.

So, let me explain a little:

  • Mercurial Dreams was meant to leave the reader disappointed to some degree.  It was based on realism after having had complaints that sometimes these books are “too far fetched” to be believable.  Mercurial has the opposite problem, it is too realistic to be satisfying.  Sometimes, we don’t get the answers.  Sometimes, we are left to wonder.  Sometimes, there is no closure.  That’s exactly what Mercurial was meant to emphasize.
  • Summoned Dreams was meant to show that sometimes people do terrible things with good intentions.  It was also meant to show that Aislinn could be compassionate and a hard ass at the same time.  Hence the different manners in which she deals with the different serial killers.
  • Belladonna Dreams was supposed to be convoluted and confusing.  More than one serial killer has started killing for the most bizarre reasons on the planet.  Belladonna highlights the strange world that serial killers live in.  Also, there’s a bit of an Aislinn Cain problem.  As she fights against her nature, her interpretation of the world changes.  If she had been in her right mind, it wouldn’t have been confusing or convoluted.  Everything would have been better explained, but you, the reader, are seeing the world through her shattered self-perception, and it impacts how the story is told.  Worse, the reader is forced to deal with not one, but two psychopaths who have been manipulated by other psychopaths.  So, even the killer chapters are disjointed because the killers are being manipulated and seeing the world in a different way than what they normally would.

While I try to keep these books going in a single direction with easy to follow plot lines, every once in a while, something different has to happen.  When dealing with psychopaths and sociopaths and personal identities of these entities, things occasionally go off the rails and the story becomes so complex it is nearly impossible to satisfy a reader.  As the writer, I must accept it.  Forcing it to be something else, makes it awful (Tortured Dreams comes to mind) and hard to read.  So, as a reader of the series, accept the weird books as weird and know that not every one will be so screwy.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

