Mutilated Dreams is Weird


Mutilated Dreams is perhaps the strangest book I have ever written in the Dreams & Reality novels.

First, there aren’t any dead people.  Not yet anyway and I’m on chapter 9 (depending on the numbering system vs. actual chapters).  It’s also missing its customary blood, guts, and gore.  (I’m sure that will change by the end)

Second, they are in New Orleans.  Sometimes, my characters can still surprise me and Aislinn is having a little trouble with voodoo.  She doesn’t seem like the believer type, but turns out, she is.

Third, a character showed up that I wasn’t expecting.  I knew he’d show up eventually, but he’s early by a couple of books.  He’s changed some dynamics of the story.

Finally, it’s always weird when Xavier is the most level headed member of the group.  Which at the moment, is his role.

None of these things are bad, just odd and unintentional.  I always consider it a good thing when my books and characters surprise me.  It shows evolution in their personality that I had not realized was happening.

(PS: WordPress made changes to their website… I’m figuring it out, but it’s still weird)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Can’t wait to read this!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

