Character Voices


I’m often asked about the voices of my characters.  Mostly, how did I come up with them.  Or why are some of them very weird.

We’ll start with Aislinn.  Aislinn Cain’s voice is a mix of people I’ve heard over the years.  I had a teacher that never used contractions, an English teacher no less.  She also emphasized the double t in words like little and guttural so that the listener absolutely knew without a doubt that there were two t‘s in the word.  (Have you just said little and discovered you make it sound like it has a d not a double t in it?)  My real life Malachi only contracts negatives.  He says I am going to the store and I didn’t go to the store.  On the flip side, I once watched a true crime show where the bad guy was caught because he did the opposite; I’m going to the store and I did not go to the store.  Furthermore, the use of contractions by me is sketchy.  Sometimes I use them.  Sometimes I don’t.  I’m less likely to contract phrases like “will not” “has not” and “I will.”  I also hate “I’d”.  Seriously, I hate saying it (but I will write it).  I will say “I would like” or “I had better not” before I will say “I’d like” Or “I’d better not.”  I also dislike the phrase “I have had”.  Not only will I not contract it, but I will work long and hard on finding ways not to use it at all.

Nadine talks like me… or mostly like me.  I don’t hear my own voice coming out of her mouth, but I definitely hear my own words coming out.  For this reason, Nadine swears a little more.  She has a strange accent.  She doesn’t contract words in sentences that require emphasis I did not set the house on fire.  She uses words like “totally,” “really,” “spiffy,” and “nifty.”  Also, there’s a little more sarcasm to her.

Brenna is supposed to sound like a teenager.  The entire cast of the Strachan novels are supposed to sound like teenagers.  I believe immortal beings would suffer from stunted maturity.  Humans mature as we deal with shit in our lives (life, death, STDs, mistakes, illnesses, etc).  Since none of my immortals suffer from these things very often, they don’t really mature (knowledge makes you smarter, not more mature)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

