A Reason For Everything


My mother is a firm believer that everything happens for a reason.  Most of the time, I agree with her.  However, my lack of ability to write a blog post today seemed bizarre.  I think I found the reason tonight.

My 20 year old nephew and his girlfriend have a 16 week old puppy.  She’s a beautiful German Shepherd/Border Collie mix.  Today, after much fighting, my nephew and his girlfriend broke up and she told him to pack his stuff and leave, making sure to take Lola with him.  The place he’s staying doesn’t allow dogs, so Lola is spending the night at our house.  It’s the first time she has been here overnight.  Usually she is only here a few hours without my nephew or his girlfriend.

However, as the hours have dragged on, I’ve noticed a change in her.  She became docile, which is unnatural for her curious puppy attitude.  She crawled up on the couch and snuggled against me, not attempting to chew on me or the blanket or anything else.  Which is also not like her, since she is teething.

At first, I wasn’t sure what was wrong with her.  Was she getting sick?  Was she just tired and unsure about where to go to sleep?  Then I looked over and saw tears coming from her eyes.  She wasn’t making any noises, but it was obvious that the tears had been flowing for a while as her fur was damp with them.

I think she’s depressed.  She may be feeling abandoned.  I know she misses home.  It’s the first time I have ever witnessed a dog cry. Lola 16 Weeks I feel bad for her.  She had to listen to her humans fight, then she was dropped off here without either of them and as the hours passed, I believe she has begun to wonder if they will ever come back for her.  We’re fun to visit, but like a young child facing their first night in a strange house without their mommy or daddy, I believe she is terrified.  If she had the ability to talk, would she be begging us to call my nephew to come get her?

The beautiful Lola.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. heidireinhardt

     /  October 29, 2015

    You’re breaking my heart, beautiful Lola. Please give her lots of belly rubs and nose kisses. Hopefully she’ll get to be with her daddy/ your nephew again soon (full time).
    Sending lots of puppy hugs and love,
    Heidi and my own fur-babies Lola and Brutus (Norwich Terrier mixes; brother and sister)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

