Creepy Guy


In a case of life imitating art, there was a creepy guy in my yard yesterday evening.  I had opened the front and back doors to let in some fall air and was working when I caught movement out of the corner of my eye.  I look up, there’s a guy in my front yard.

Here’s the situation: the porch light is on, the driveway is devoid of cars, and the doors are wide open.

The guy appears to be trying to look through the front door from the yard.  Only, all the lights in the house are off except for the TV because I have a migraine.  I’m wearing sunglasses in the darkened house to look at my computer screen.  I do this more often than people think.

He stands there for a few minutes, not seconds, but actual minutes, before he meanders back to his car.  My curiosity is piqued by this behavior.  I check out the bedroom window and he’s hanging out by his van, in my side yard.  Not one to spook easily, I go back into the living room and confront him out the front door.

He says he speaks no English, but he seems to understand what I’m saying.  He also tells me he is selling tamales out of his van (it’s a minivan, not a food van).  Most of it was in Spanish, but I understand food words and money words in Spanish.  However, it bugs me that he seems to understand me when I say I don’t like tamales.  It’s one of the few Mexican foods I don’t like.  I’m certainly not buying them out of the back of someone’s minivan.

It was just odd.  It was one of the odder experiences I’ve had as of late.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 30, 2015

    Um…he was casing your house perhaps? I would recommend only opening the doors when someone else is in the house with you – especially since there are so many crazy things going on these days – yes I might be chicken but I’m a careful one….

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

