The Series Bible Goes Awry


When writing a series, all writers keep some sort of series guide for it.  If they don’t, they forget important things (names, bad guys, etc).  My creative writing teachers used the term “Series Bible,” but it goes by lots of names.  Anyway, I currently have 4 of them in my possession (D&R, Dysfunctional Chronicles, Strachan, & Death Demon Trilogy).  One of them went awry, causing an interesting problem… It’s a good thing I decided to read the Dysfunctional Chronicles.

Originally, I was going to have Kenzie get pregnant shortly after Nadine returned from her honeymoon (drunken fun to celebrate Zeke & Nadine’s survival and return to civilization).  So, she got pregnant in March according to the Series Bible.

When I wrote The Dysfunctional Proposal, I decided to give it some space and set the book in July.  I didn’t change the Series Bible.  So, when I read The Dysfunctional Holiday, I was shocked that she was giving birth six weeks after Thanksgiving (even worse, I had already started writing The Dysfunctional Delivery).  If she got pregnant in June, she was not 9 months in December… Not by a long shot.

This means The Dysfunctional Delivery has been delayed.  I could have changed dates in Proposal, but it was funnier to change references in Holiday.  I did some research and pregnancy (and Couvade’s) can be rough even at 4 months.  Thankfully, the book still worked as a result.

So, I have shelved Delivery for a while and started a new Dysfunctional Chronicle to take it’s publishing place.  I’ll still get Delivery written during my break, but I will add a novella or two before it takes place.

Moral of the story, always check your references and make sure you are updating them properly.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 29, 2015

    Lol…glad you read the book ….and changed it up

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

