A Great Day


I don’t normally share pictures from my life, but I’m making an exception today.  First, let me explain yesterday.

In May, I told my mother I wanted Kansas City Royals tickets for my birthday.  We settled on a September evening game so that it wouldn’t be exceptionally hot.  I also wanted “good seats.”  Our tickets were behind first base, in foul ball territory at dugout level (they were amazing seats!).  The game was yesterday.

Why did I want to go?  Last year, my SO and I went to a Cardinals game and it was good.  However, as a kid, my parents took me to Royals games.  My mom was a huge Royals fan.  This year, I decided to catch a fleeting glimpse of those happy childhood memories.  There is no doubt that my trip to the Cardinals game as a major factor in spurring me to want to attend a Royals game.

We decided to make a day of it.  One of my nephews recently moved to Shawnee Mission, Kansas with his girlfriend while she attended dental school.  Shawnee Mission is part of the KC metro-complex that creates all major US cities.  She had to go to class, but he got off work.  This meant our first stop was the zoo.

I love the Kansas City zoo.  Since they remodeled fifteen years ago or so, it has become a great zoo.  We met there and spent the entire day wandering around the zoo.  I have a ton of animal pictures (especially monkeys, because above mentioned girlfriend is afraid of them and I’m sort of mean).  It was wonderful!  It was much better to visit a zoo with my nephew as an adult than when he was a kid, mainly because I didn’t have to keep him on a leash this time and I did when they were younger.

Then it was off to the game.  When we originally bought the tickets it was because it was a night game in September, making it unlikely to be a hundred degrees out.  Also, we thought they would be in the playoff chase or out of it, by the time we got there.

It turned out to be one of the most important games of the Royals season.  They not only won, but with Minnesota losing, they clinched their playoff division.  It also turned out to be very important to me.  I got to spend an entire day with my mom.  I do quite a bit with said nephew.  He plays darts and he has no issues hanging out at the house for hours upon hours.  I also do a lot with my SO; camping, darts, TV broadcast baseball and football games, and day trips.  Watching the game with my mom was amazing.  It was nice to just have a good time without family or work or the real world interrupting the fun.  It was as enjoyable as I remembered from my childhood.  I bought a souvenir photo.  I don’t like to have my picture taken, meaning I always look miserable in them… but not this one.  All of us look happy.  So, I’m sharing it with you, because to me, it was the kind of day everyone should get to experience a little more often (not necessarily the zoo and a baseball game, but something that makes you really happy).

Featured image (I’m in the Moose shirt, the other two should be self explanatory)

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 25, 2015

    It sounds like you had an excellent day! I’m glad you had fun at the zoo and that the game was great and you got to spend time with your mom::)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. marcia peterson

     /  September 25, 2015

    Good for you and yours!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

