Good Enough – A Revelation


A friend and I were texting yesterday about her father-in-law.  After some talk about him, she asked how I was doing.  I responded I’m good enough.  After it sent, I started wondering what that meant, then the cartoonish light bulb went off in my head and I had an epiphany.

I’m not doing wonderful, there are things I would like to change.  There are things I still want to fix.  My health is mediocre, still having back problems, but I know the source and I’m working to fix it.  I’m not living on pills and that is an improvement.

However, I’m not doing badly either.  I broke a tooth and hurt my back last month, that sucks, but I also had the best book sales month of my life.  Which do I think about more, my tooth and back or the royalty deposits I’ll be getting in November?  You guessed it, I’m thinking about the book sales.

Am I churning out 30,000 words a day on my new books?  No.  Am I writing on them every day?  Yes and I’m not just writing on one each day, I’m writing on several each day.  So, there’s a book to fit my mood at all moments.  I’ve also had some inspirational moments, like the clock tower that scared the hell out of me and a dart tournament where I had a blast with some wonderful people I don’t see enough and the third crappiest hotel I have ever stayed in.

Am I still irritated about some things?  Yes, but I’m moving forward.  Being as pissed off as Denis Leary doesn’t work for me, so I’m letting it go.  My paralyzation and frustration with being overwhelmed is going away, especially as I buckle down and tackle the tasks that have been overwhelming me.  I refuse to live that anymore.

I’m still going to be stressed, it might be part of my genetic make-up, but there are some changes I can make to remove parts of it.  I’ve decided to make them.

So, am I wonderful?  No.  But I am good enough.  Hopefully by the beginning of next year, I will be able to say I’m wonderful.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Good for you on making changes and being “good enough”. I think there is almost too much emphasis in our society on things being “great” and it’s just not possible all the time or maybe even most of the time. I too need to make some changes and need to quit putting them off.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,459 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

