Meds & Sleeping


I’m officially taking so many drugs, I’ve had trouble convincing myself to go to sleep.  So, I have drastically altered my sleeping schedule.  Here’s the schedule:

Percocet – Every 5 hours (1 pill, so I am getting better, however I do require 2 first thing in the morning to overcome my tossing and turning during the night).

Flexeril – Muscle relaxer 10mg taken 30 minutes before bed (for my bruxism, which is the fancy word for jaw clenching while I sleep… although it is currently helping with my back too).

Valium – One 5mg tablet every 8 hours.  I take them at midnight, 8 am, and 4 pm.  They make me very sleepy.

Klonopin – Two .5mg tablets taken 30 minutes before bed.

So here’s how it works:

At midnight, I take a Valium.  An hour later (1am), I take one Klonopin.  An hour after that (2am), I take the other Klonopin.  At 2:30, I take the Flexeril.  I stay up for another 30 minutes just to make sure I’m not going to have breathing problems or have my heart rate drop really low.  So, I climb into bed at 3.  I sleep approximately 5 hours on all those drugs before my back pain wakes me up, at which point, I get up, pop 2 Percocet and another Valium.  And the day starts all over again.  After the first dose of 2 Percocet, I can manage the pain with a single pill, every five hours (although, there are times when that last hour is a killer).  I’m hoping to get to six hours between doses by Monday.

I don’t worry about the day time meds.  They make me sleepy and they make me feel like a zombie.  But that’s how I feel on all narcotics.  It’s the night time stuff that actually bothers me.  I know the doctor told me it wasn’t a big deal to take the Valium, Klonopin, and Flexeril within a short time of each other, but it’s hard to convince myself it’s safe.  That’s a lot of medicated relaxation.  Two types of benzodiazepines plus a muscle relaxer just seems like a lot of drugs that cause drowsiness and relaxation of the muscles (including the diaphragm).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

