Never Attack Reviewers


I was asked this week “what is the one piece advice you would give a new author?”  After several minutes of thought, it dawned on me: Never Attack a Reviewer.

We’ve heard about the unprofessionalism of authors attacking bad reviews on Goodreads and Amazon, but what about the other places where reviewers congregate?  For instance, blogs…

A few years ago, I reviewed a book by a British author.  It was set in Nevada or New Mexico, I don’t remember now.  Neither of those threw up red flags for me.  It was listed as a “comedy.”  Again, no red flags.  I get British humor.  I live in the US.  I read stacks of books by British authors (sometimes, I cluster them up and then find myself typing words in a British way – tyres instead of tires, colours instead of colors, etc) and I tend to love them.

However, this book wasn’t humorous by any standards.  The setting was weird, a ranch with an over the top Brit turned American cowboy.  The main character was stiffer than a 2×4.  And while I managed to finish it, it was an act of will.  In short, I found the entire book ridiculous – decent plot, terrible characters and writing.  (I admit that I don’t remember the name of the book or the author, but if you go back through my blog post archive searching for book reviews, you are bound to find it).

Now, I know that not everyone is going to love every book they read.  That’s why I don’t mind getting negative reviews.  Hell, I’m not going to love every book I read.  However, this particular author crossed the line.  He came at me in the comments section of my blog.

He basically told me I was an inbred, ill-mannered, idiotic American.  His image of me was akin to the hillbillies in Deliverance, if they could read.  Or at least, that’s how he wanted to portray me.  He even demanded that I remove my review from Amazon (I didn’t).

However, it did leave an impact.  In the time since, I have found myself more likely to leave reviews for books I hated than for books I loved.  I can be objective about either, but I feel the need to warn potential readers like me of what they are getting into… If an author will attack me on my own blog for a negative review, I imagine they will do the same to others (but at least others will join me in the ranks of inbred, ill-mannered, idiots).

Chances of my ever reading the author again?  None.  Chances I will recommend his book to someone that might actually enjoy it?  None.  Chances that I would recommend the author at all?  None.  Chances that if someone asked me about a book by said author, I would encourage them to run away?  100%.

The problem is that he didn’t damage my reputation as a book reviewer, blogger, or author.  He damaged his own author image.  That is damage that cannot be undone.  So, accept your negative reviews, even if you do believe the reviewer is an idiot, with a smile and move on.  Or you will only hurt yourself.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  August 4, 2015

    Great advice – I’ve received some weird comments from authors but I just try to grin and bear it

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • You should do a guest post on my blog about how to behave towards book bloggers and include some of those weird comments. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,458 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

