An Interesting FitBit Problem


Last night, after banging out a few paragraphs on a new piece, I went back to work on Belladonna Dreams.  At about 1:30 in the morning, the loaner FitBit began vibrating.  There was no reason for this vibration, so I opened the app on my phone to see what was up…

It informed me I had reached my daily step and distance goal.  But I hadn’t moved from my normal writing position except… well, no, I never left the couch.  How could I have made the goals already?  After an hour and a half of sitting on my couch, writing.

As I stared at it the screen, thinking intently about why it would have recorded steps, the counter began to move again.  I’d just taken four more steps.  Only I hadn’t.  And I hadn’t been typing.  I’d been thinking.  Surely, it isn’t connected to my brain, logging that activity.  So, I thought some more and the counter continued to climb.  What the hell?

Then I noticed it.

When I am deep in thought, I unconsciously rub my thigh, in a spiral pattern.  It’s a weird habit that came into existence at some point in my life and I am only aware that I’m doing it when other people point it out to me.  Sometimes, it’s my right hand and right leg, sometimes it’s my left hand and left leg.

Last night, it was the left side, the wrist where I wear the FitBit.  I decided to test it.  I consciously rubbed my thigh.  After about five spirals, it logged a step.  If I speed up the spirals, it logged more steps with fewer rotations of the spiral.  I logged 1,600 steps this way.

Since I don’t realize I’m doing it, I don’t know how to break the habit.  It isn’t something that I realize I’m doing.  It’s just a thing that happens when I am thinking.

These steps cannot be removed from FitBit, which means when I write, I’m going to have to be conscious of this habit.  I have no doubt that I will forget and won’t notice it, until the FitBit starts vibrating to tell me about my awesomeness in meeting my goals.

For the record, it logged 1,603 steps and a distance of 0.78 miles.  Strange…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. T.Vogt

     /  July 13, 2015

    One very good reason to just take a walk around the block or around the inside of a mall… you do the distance you know you do the distance and you don’t spend money on a do hickey that can’t tell what you are really doing…..and yep this advice comes from the exercise guru that a trip up the stairs needs a break, a walk around the block needs pain meds and a cane… My idea of a work out is a dvd and doing it sitting down..laugh and it will brighten your day ponder it and you’ll just get a headache..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

