Overachiever! (?)


I have been testing a FitBit for a few weeks now.  The metal studs have a tendency to break me out, but that’s why they invented electrical tape.

Every day of vacation, a little message has popped up on my phone or tablet or both to tell that I am an overachiever, meaning I’ve exceeded my daily goals.  Hold the applause, because there’s more to it than that.

I am a writer.  I spend roughly 15 hours of each day sitting on my couch, looking at my laptop. I sleep 6 hours.  The other 3 hours are spent doing things like chores, cooking, sometimes shopping, and since joining Weight Watchers, I have tried to get between a half hour and an hour of exercise each day (including using my new and expensive jump rope).

However, I set my own goals.  This means that while most of my Friendly FitBit competitors have goals of 10,000 steps a day, mine is 1,500.  My friends have all got their set for 5 miles to be walked, I have 1/2 mile as my goal.  My calorie output is set to 2,000 while my friends are at 2,400 or 2,500.

On vacation, where I do a lot of walking and very little writing, it isn’t hard to meet this 1,500 step goal.  Or surpass it, like I’ve done every day of vacation.  It also means that I am hitting that 1/2 mile goal and the calorie goal (at least, as recorded by FitBit).  As a matter of fact, it is so easy, that usually by noon I have hit the mileage and step goals.  Evenings have been when I have hit my calorie burning goal.

I don’t know how many calories I take in, I do Weight Watchers because I’m too lazy to count calories.  However, I am sticking with my daily allowed points and I am losing weight, so I must be doing something correctly.

Yet, it seems to me that calling me an overachiever is a stretch.  Yes, I’m doing more than my goals, but let’s be honest, they aren’t that high and when I return from vacation, the chances of being an overachiever are slim except on Mondays & Wednesdays.  I will still get my activity points and my exercise.  I will still follow the Weight Watchers point system, but it might be a little depressing when my phone stops telling me I’m an overachiever.  One gets used to that sort of positive reinforcement.  Of course, I’m not going to miss it so much that I will go out of my way to get that pop up message.  My couch will once again start bearing an imprint of my behind.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,458 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

