A Shout Out!


Ok, so I am actually on vacation this week.  Not that I’ve earned one, but I took one anyway.  I decided to do some posts ahead of time and this is one of them.

Most people don’t realize that I have worked with ten cover artists at this point.  Five of them never got off the ground.  I had a specific idea (surreal and dark) for the covers of the Strachan Series and the Dreams & Reality books, that was really the only guidelines and I couldn’t get them to understand that (the first artist for the Dreams series actually put balloons on the cover of Tortured Dreams and used hot pink font for the title, the second one kept wanting to put the silhouette of a naked woman on it – I don’t think either of those were going to send the right message).  Then I found Kelly Nichols and she did good on Tortured, Elysium, & Mercurial and then disappeared.

The search was on again.  I contacted two artists with a general idea and the same guidelines – surreal and dark.  Only Angela Fristoe pulled it off.  Her work on Explosive blew me away.  The other artist was kind of appalled that I was blowing up county fairs.

So, Angela with Covered Creatively has been my go-to artist for the Dreams books since.  It made sense at that point, when I needed to replace the Strachan covers, that Angela would be asked first.  She once again, blew me away with her work.

This is more like a love letter than a shout-out, but I’m okay with that.  I love her work and if anyone is looking for a cover artist, I highly recommend Angela.  I’ve seen her other work and she does a great job on all of them.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  July 7, 2015

    Angela has done a great job on the new covers – I really loved the cover for Explosive Dreams – completely captured the feel of the story and her redo of the Strachan covers

    Like

    Reply
  2. Aw! Thanks for the shout out! It helps that you are so open to different ideas and aren’t afraid to tell me what you like and don’t like. 🙂 Angela

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

