It’s a rope… with handles…


Weight Watchers sends me a motivational email every couple of days.  Today’s email was about exercising.  It was full of stuff I could do; go jogging, go bike riding, put in a work-out tape, do yoga (does yoga burn calories?!), do cross training, and the final item: jump rope.

I have good memories of jumping rope.  I am coordinated enough to do it, unlike most items on the list (me on a bicycle? just reserve me a room at the ER,). So, I jumped on Amazon to check out jumping ropes.

Unless I want to buy one of those segmented plastic thingies that existed on school playgrounds, those things aren’t cheap.  It’s a cord with handles, folks… should it really be $20?!?  Is there really that much labor that goes into making a jump rope?  You cut the cord, fit the handles, attach the stoppers and viola!  A jump rope.

Of course, I don’t want one of those segmented plastic thingies and I like my fingers (not coordinated enough to make my own, in other words), so I forked over the money to buy a “fitness jump rope.”  I thought about going to Dick’s Sporting Goods or MC Sports or some other sporting store here in town, but chances are always good that I’m going to end up shelling out even more money at those stores…

In the thirty minutes since purchasing said “fitness jump rope” which was the #2 selling jump rope in boxing equipment (it’s gotta be good if boxers use it, right?), I have reconsidered my purchase several times.  Because if I make it ten minutes with said rope, I’ll be doing astoundingly well and will have burned a whole 132 calories.  I guess that’s more than what I burned writing this article and I’m sure I’ll work my way up to doing thirty minutes or maybe even an hour.  I might even be able to pull out some vigorous jumping after a while and that burns more calories (and earns me more food points… which is not my problem with points… my problem with points is that I really like to drink them).

Weight Watchers wants me to earn between 4 and 6 points each day.  FitBit wants me to burn 2500 calories a day.  I accomplish neither at the moment.  But as everyone keeps reminding me, it’s a process… At least I’m making the effort.  Also, at least for 10 minutes, I will not be sitting on my ass…. wonder if I can learn to write while I jump rope.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Dragon Naturally Speaking; does it work while jumping and breathing hard?

    Like

    Reply
  2. What about a stationary bike? I am thinking of getting one of those…the treadmill I bought is not for me…of course I also can’t sell the stupid thing

    Like

    Reply
    • They make me feel a little sick. I can do treadmills, but not bikes. Of course, I have room for neither… That’s why we are still house shopping.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Katie Bagshawe

     /  June 25, 2015

    I forgot how much effort skipping ropes were when I went back to mine recently! They recommended weighted hula hoops in my meeting this week, another great way to tone up. I’m no good at cardio exercise just yet, I’m building my way up with long walks and using little weights to tone up my arms along with thousands of squats! But like you said, it’s a process and you’ll be awesome before you know it 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,458 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

