Background Noise


Some people think I have ADD.  I don’t.  I do have to have background noise when I write.  I can’t stand to listen to my fingers hit the keyboard.  Or for the keys to clack as each one is struck and the letter appears on the screen.  Also, my brain works much faster than my fingers, occasionally, it just has to stop and wait for them to catch up.

Seriously, I really do have that problem.  My fingers will be writing paragraph one, but my brain has written down to paragraph ten.  At those moments, I have to disengage the brain and let the muscle memory work on getting the words out.

However, this is a more complicated process than one thinks.  First, I can’t look at the computer when this happens.  If I can see where my fingers are, my brain will continue to move forward or it will start reading what has been written (which turns into a disaster).  Second, I can’t just stare off into space.  There has to be something for my brain to do.  If I’m listening to music, I take the time to sing along.  Or if the TV is on, I take the time to look at the screen.

Without this background noise, my fingers get lost because my brain composes a lot faster than 100 words per minute.  That’s pretty much the max for how fast my fingers can move across the keys.  A few times they’ve been clocked a little faster, but it’s rare.

What’s interesting is a lot of writers work to classical music.  I need words because I occasionally need the distraction.  Now, I can pretty much type to any type of music; opera, rock, country, oldies, r&b, easy listening (does that still exist?), pop, but no rap.  Rap just doesn’t do anything for my creativity.  When it comes to the TV, I can pretty much type to any reality TV show.  Crime dramas are out though.  Movies, if I’ve seen them recently or a lot, are also good.  I think I have every line from the Predator (Predator, Predator 2, Predators) & AVP (Alien v. Predator, Alien v. Predator: Requiem) movies memorized along with the first three Tremors movies and five of the Police Academy films.  Oh and all the Ice Age movies, which I love.

And that is my crazy writing requirements… Worded background noise.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

