Meeting Mike


Last night, I was working when my best friend texted me a picture.  She’s at a conference in San Diego.  Last night, the company hired Aerosmith to preform and Mike Rowe (Dirty Jobs guy) is there as a keynote speaker.  The pic is of her and Mike Rowe.

My first thought was “I’m in the wrong line of work.”  My second was “I’m so jealous.”  My third was “Why?  You’re a spas, remember?  Even if you were there and he suggested you two take a picture together, you’d just slink away.”

Hmmm, that’s true.  I know from experience.  I have had the opportunity to meet Sascha Konietzko of KMFDM more than once and I never have.  As a matter of fact, when they were specifically sitting in a local record store, signing autographs, I panicked and sent my favorite CD with aforementioned best friend to the desk to get it autographed. That night, at the concert, he and wife Lucia, were in the audience while the opening band played.  My nephews & aforementioned best friend all went up and talked to them.  I attempted not to make eye contact with anyone even remotely close to the table where the group was.

I have a hard time meeting new people in general.  Meeting people I admire is kind of like having a personality blackout.  My brain screams Hide!! Maybe they won’t see you!  Um, yeah, that’s not weird at all.  It’s part of the reason I have never signed up to go to a writer’s conference, I might have the opportunity to meet a writer that I read.  It might cause a mental breakdown or something.

I’m excited she met Mr. Rowe.  She said he seemed really nice.  I am jealous, but I’m also kinda glad it wasn’t me.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

