Writer + Teaser Post = Evil


I recently posted this snippet from Belladonna Dreams to Facebook:

“That was the Assistant Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation.”  Gabriel growled at the end of his sentence.  He didn’t speak another word for several minutes.  His lips turned white as he waited for himself to calm down.  “A package was delivered to Blake this afternoon that contained a bomb.”

Yes, it was intended to give a taste of things to come in the next Dreams & Reality Novel.  Yes, I knew it was evil to post it.  Yes, I expected people to have questions.

However, I was surprised by how many people were horrified that I might kill him off.  Sure I love him, but he’s my character and I love all of them.  He’s still not a major player in the series.  And unfortunately, if his death serves a purpose, we will all tearfully read as they lower his coffin into the ground.

Of course, telling readers that someone is going to die in the book is sort of redundant… it’s a serial killer novel, lots of people are going to die in it.  Sadly, this killer is exceptionally evil and isn’t thinking like any of the usual killers.  When the real preview comes out, it will not be the first serial killer chapter.  I won’t be giving that away before the book releases…

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Yeah…I’m not sure how I would feel about Malachi being killed off…on the one hand I can see several plot points being resolved/beginning with it. I could also see “Ace” completely out of control and wanting to taser pretty much everyone in site and either she would come up with an over the top response to the killer or maybe he grandfather would use this as an excuse to break out of the fortress to go on a rampage to kill off more people he thinks have crossed his family somehow….but I kinda hope you don’t kill him off….lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

