Instagram


I have been told I need an Instagram account.  I’m not sure why this is a requirement or if I would ever really post to it if I had one.  The problem with Instagram is that it is primarily a photo outlet and I am not a photographer.

Sure, I take quick snaps of moths, books, and today it was my fingernail as I managed to put a vinyl wrap on it for an “instant manicure,” but that’s about it.  My phone and tablet are not filled with pictures waiting to be unleashed on the poor, unsuspecting public.

First, most of my photos are blurry.  The arrival of the digital age has made photography a little more manageable, in the sense that I’m not wasting rolls of film to get one good picture.

Second, rarely does the thought I should take a picture of that go through my head.  When I’m camping and someone sees a moth or butterfly, they point them out to me, but unless they also say You should get a picture, I don’t even think about it then.  Trips are documented on other people’s cameras and phones.  Most of the time, I don’t even remember that my tablet has a camera, let alone my phone.

Third, in those rare moments that I do snap some pictures, I rarely think to share them.  I might show them to the people with me at the time or a few intimate friends at a later date, but most of my photos are never opened once taken.  I was really surprised when I opened up the photos app on my phone the other day and discovered there were two hundred pictures.  I don’t know what most of them are… I keep meaning to go through them, but I forget.

Finally, I know they say a picture is worth a thousand words and some of them are, but this does not apply to my photos.  Mine are worth roughly three “blurry, unfocused, WTF”.  I can’t imagine there are hundreds of people clamoring to see my photos of moths or fires or my nails.  I can’t even imagine there are dozens.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

