Talking In Your Sleep


On occasion, I talk in my sleep.  This is more probable when I have taken migraine medication or narcotic pain killers.  I am also the queen of weird dreams.  Not just odd dreams, but dreams that wake you up with WTF?!? going through my brain. For example, the other night I dreamed that a donkey was playing UNO with the nephews and their girlfriends, but instead of keeping score based on cards, they were keeping it based on number of times they actually got to play a card and the value of the card played.  My mother was in the kitchen making Jell-O shots with my first grade teacher.  My SO was walking around naked and I was trying to convince the nephews and nieces that the donkey was really trying to take their souls and he had zombiefied my SO to walk around naked as a distraction so that they would miss turns, thereby losing points.  If I had been talking aloud, there is no clue what my SO might have heard.

My SO also talks in his sleep.  It is reserved for times of illness, spring, and summer (I believe he has allergies that boost his nocturnal ramblings).  Most of the time, his talk is gibberish (much like mine), but every once in a while, it becomes disturbingly coherent.

I’m willing to ignore even the most coherent sleep-induced conversations… until last week.  Something he said really bothered me.  I kept trying to shake it off, but I couldn’t.  Instead, I found myself moody and irritated by everything he did or didn’t do.  I finally told him, which made him moody and irritated, but I felt much better.

However, I still can’t figure out why it bothered me so much.  I can only imagine some of the conversations I’ve had out loud while I slept (I have worked out book plots in my dreams).  Anyone listening to me, stringing bits of the conversation together, would instantly believe that I was a serial killing psychopath plotting the demise of mankind with demonic donkeys and soul-eating teacups.  And I know this!  I’m not sure how weird his dreams are, but could they really be weirder than mine?  It wasn’t like he was plotting to kill me in his sleep.  So why would I put any thought into something he said while sleeping?

The mind, while awake and asleep, is a strange, strange thing.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

