Draft2Digital v. Smashwords


Some time ago, I noticed that neither Tortured Dreams nor Elysium Dreams was available on Kobo.  They carry books 3-8 of the Dreams & Reality novels, but not 1 and 2… a problem to be sure.  I contacted Kobo.  They informed me the books had been flagged as a violation of their terms.  I asked why, they said the books were marked as having graphic adult content.  Now, I know that my books aren’t for the faint of heart, but Kobo allows more graphic books on their site.  The next question was “how to fix it”… They told me to contact Smashwords, since the flag had been applied by Smashwords.  Long story short, Smashwords told me to contact Kobo, because the books were not flagged. Kobo sent me back to Smashwords and the vicious cycle continued.

Then there was a problem with Dark Illumination.  After two weeks, it finally got sorted, but during that time, I moved Dark Illumination to distribution through Draft2Digital.

However, the entire sequence of events, got me thinking.  I uploaded Tortured and Elysium into Draft2Digital specifically marking that I wanted to make them available to Kobo.  The books passed the censor test and are now available.

Then I got to looking at my books on Inktera (Page Foundry).  I’ve never sold a book on the site before, which was kind of curious because I sell on all the other sites.  My Inktera books were rough… the formatting was strange, the table of contents didn’t work, and a preview proved that the book wasn’t worth buying.  So, I uploaded all my books to Draft2Digital and marked them to be distributed to Page Foundry.

Within the first reporting session, I had sold nine books on Inktera.  Nine books after three years of nothing was kind of surprising.

All this has led me to question some of what I’ve “learned” about ebook distribution.  More testing will be required, and I have it lined up.  We’ll see what happens as the year progresses.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I wondered why books 1 & 2 weren’t on Kobo…very interesting information

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,458 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

