Writing In Progress


Yesterday I was asked if I was working on anything new.  Um, yeah, you could say that as long as I am drawing breaths, I’m working on something new.

However, I rarely talk about “what” I’m working on… Usually, I just give the title of a book.  Tonight, I’m divulging what sort of books have been rolling around in my brain.

1.  Belladonna Dreams – It’s about a 1/4 of the way written and will be book 9 in the Dreams & Reality Novels.

2.  While we are on the subject of Dreams & Reality, when I originally decided to publish the first Aislinn Cain novel, I had a plan: Cain novels would all be “Dreams” novels (Aislinn means Dreams), Blake stories would be “Reality” novels.  I haven’t written a Blake novel.  Honestly, I can’t stay trapped in his head that long, it’s brutally painful.  That doesn’t mean I have scrapped the idea entirely though.  Battered Dreams gave me my first idea for a Blake story, but I’m still unsure about the execution of the project.

3.  I do have a Dysfunctional novella written… sort of.  It’s written and I hate it, a lot.  It isn’t funny, the premise is shaky, and the plot is hurried.  I am waiting for my “funny-it-up” person to get to a point in life where she can take a look at it.  Or I need to scrap it and start over, I’m not sure which way to go yet.

4.  The Callie Strachan books, The Death Demon Trilogy, is up and running.  I finally got more than a few paragraphs written.  It actually has 4 chapters.  The problem with any series is starting it, by the time I finish book 2, I tend to hate book 1 (This is true of Dark Cotillion, Tortured Dreams & The Dysfunctional Affair…).  As a result, I may write book 1 and 2 before I publish either of them.  Maybe I will actually like the first book if I can go back and change it after book 2.

5.  Surprisingly, despite all the novels and novellas I write, I still write short stories and flash fiction pieces.  It’s nearly impossible for me not to write every day.  However, there are days when I can’t find my path on any of my novels or novellas, so I pen short pieces to keep the writer’s side of my brain sane.  There are also days when I just don’t have time to commit a thousand or more words to a page, but if I don’t at least get something out, I don’t sleep, those are days for short pieces as well.

6.  Finally, I have been working on a non-fiction book that gives a candid look at life with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome.  It may not seem like we need one of these, but I have never found a book that made me feel “better” about the condition (most make me feel worse).  They are too clinical or they leave out important stuff.  Originally, the idea seemed ludicrous to me, I’m not a doctor, but then one of the women in my support group told me “it was needed.”  I’ve always been very open about it, even the parts others shy away from… So, maybe she’s right, maybe it is needed, maybe I will make one person feel better.  I don’t know… we’ll see how it goes.

That’s my “in progress” list.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Sounds good to me…I imagine any Blake book would be difficult to say the least…..lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

