The Physical Book


I love books.  My house is stuffed to capacity with them.  So much so, that I have been banned from buying physical books for a while.

This hasn’t been a big deal, because I’ve been reading more indies than traditionally published books.  My old favorite authors still exist, but I don’t mind owning them in ebook.

Until now.. At first, I didn’t realize it would be a problem.  The new book I want is coming out in ebook.  I can buy it and read it on my tablet or Kindle, but… Hmmm… I really want the physical book.  I want it enough that when I went to pre-order the ebook, my fingers just wouldn’t complete the transaction.

It isn’t just an author, it’s the author… We all have that one special author that goes beyond favorite into a different category.  We crave the books like a junkie looking for a fix.  Mine hasn’t released a full length novel, a new one, in a while.  Now, he has pre-orders set up for several books that he will be releasing this summer.  And I own every book he’s written, even one that is just artwork (I’m not an “artwork” person… so this is rather astounding).  I don’t even skip the sex scenes (even more astounding).

What master mind and renaissance man lays claim to my bookshelves, even though I could pre-order the ebook?  Clive Barker.  Stephen King’s The Shining might have scared (scarred) me.  H.P. Lovecraft can make me sleep with the lights on.  But only Barker manages to worm his way into my soul and invade my dreams.  The first time I read The Hellbound Heart and The Damnation Game… I was hooked.  His works screw with my perception of good and evil.   Originally grabbing them in paperback, I immediately found myself searching for hardbacks… these were books I was going to read over and over.

And I have.  My Clive Barker paperbacks have all suffered worn out, painful, page falling-out deaths from being read and reread.  The only one currently in a viable reading condition is Mr. B. Gone and an ebook copy has saved it from that fatal ending.

The first to release this summer will be The Scarlet Gospels.  I have asked my best friend to get it for me in hardback.  It’s a gift, I didn’t buy it.  She is slightly disappointed by my request, she was planning a different gift.  And I would love her other gift, but it’s really hard to pass up a Clive Barker hardback.  They are my Holy Grail.

If anyone else is looking for gift ideas, my birthday is in August, and I love Clive Barker hardbacks.  I have a list of the few “older” books I need in hardback as well as his new releases that I want…  I would also accept audiobooks.  🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Do you have Imajica in audio? Have you read it yet? I personally have made the transition to all ebook or audio book and haven’t really looked back…lol…hit us with your list woman!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

