A Note About Words


I’ve had ten betas check in along with the editor. There’s an interesting trend.  There are a handful of things that several people have commented on.  Let’s discuss them:

petite is small, petit means petty.

blonde is masculine, blond is feminine.  Men have blonde hair, women have blond hair.

wendigos is the correct plural for wendigo.  It isn’t English, so it doesn’t obey the same rule as potato(es).

rageless is a common use word, but not a dictionary word.  rage-less is also not in the dictionary.  both have been removed from Battered Dreams and replaced by a different sentence.

were v. was – this one is tricky.  Everyone thinks were is the plural of was… it’s more complicated than that, it can show plural, but it also dictates intent.  “I was going to the store.”  “I wish I were going to the store.”  “If he were in that position, he would panic.”  However, you cannot say “They was going to the store.”  It must be “They were going to the store.”

The hard and fast rule about starting sentences with “And” or “But” is no longer so firm.  It is becoming more acceptable.  I try to use them only in dialogue (since humans have imperfect speech regardless of how awesome their spelling and grammar skills are) and yes, there are incomplete sentences in my dialogue… lots of them.  We don’t speak in complete sentences.  Want to test this theory, have a conversation with a friend and record it.  You will find you leave out nouns, often and you put pregnant pauses indicating either commas or periods, in weird places.

Just something to think about.  😉 (And, I’m not getting “onto” anyone for their corrections, I’m just passing along some helpful information that I know, like betas do to me)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

