The Strachan Series – Digital Editions


My cover art for the Strachan Series was a mess.  I ordered it through a budding artist and while I was happy with the covers, I wasn’t in love with them.  Then late last year, I got a strange email.

It would appear, that I do not have the right to use the images on digital editions of my books.  The artist did not purchase the correct license.  Oddly, I can use them on the print editions, just not the digital ones.

Attempts were made to contact the original artist.  Lots of them and they all went unanswered until the account completely disappeared.

With my deadline to replace them coming due, I finally put Covered Creatively on the job.  And Angela has been working incredibly hard to make the covers more congruent to a series as well as make them creepier, since they have been reclassified as “Dark Fantasy” and “Horror” novels.

Now I have to decide if I am going to replace the paperback covers when I replace the digital covers… And I can’t wait to get them all done to show off an entire set of Angela’s work.  She’s done an amazing job on the Dreams & Reality novels (she’s took over with the cover of Explosive Dreams).

Surprisingly, she is a best selling author of teen paranormal romance.  I find it strange that her covers are spot on, usually without my assistance.  I try to give her ideas, I tell her the title and plot, she tries to use my ideas, but honestly, her creative intuition is far better than mine.  I have no idea why she works on my twisted, dark, creepy horror covers.  But I’m very glad that she does.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  April 29, 2015

    I think my favorite cover is the one for Explosive Dreams – it is definitely the most colorful and also indicative of the book content

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

