I Am A Serial Killer


It was recently pointed out to me that I am a serial killer.  Not of real people, but of characters.  People die in my books, often, and sometimes, rather gruesomely.

I do not look upon this and cringe.  It doesn’t dampen my desire to kill off Fiona (which will not happen in Battered Dreams).  There are times when characters, even beloved ones, have to die.  That’s why Michael died.  That’s why more members of the SCTU will die.  That’s why when I start my next fantasy series, one of those beloved characters, will be dead.

Death happens.  We all stare down the tunnel that is the end of our lives and we all deal with the tragedies that exist when someone we love dies.  It is unrealistic to think that every character, in every series, is going to live happily ever after.  That’s what fairy tales are for (and even then, not everyone has a happily ever after, look at the stepsisters who disfigure their feet in Cinderella).

So, I embrace my role as a serial killer, even when I know my readers will not approve.  It is part of what it means to be an author.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  April 22, 2015

    Really….another SCTU member is going to die (I don’t really count Fiona as she is not one of the core members) ? I’m so attached to the core group (Aislinn, Gabriel, Lukas, and Xavier) so i have to hope nothing happens to the core group….sigh….Yes..I guess you are a character serial killer….lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

