Don’t Judge Me Because I’m White!


*Note: This is going to get controversial, so if you are easily offended, I recommend checking Susan Finlay’s Blog or Misha Burnett’s Blog.  I’m fans of both.

I’m white.  Anyone that looks at me knows I’m white.  There are some realities about being white that I don’t think most people realize.

First, being white means you’re European.  In Europe, there are six big “ethnic groups”: Roman, Greek, Slav, German, Celt, and Gael.  I’m Gaelic-Celt, my ancestors were barbarians.  They were really good at four things; raping, pillaging, looting, and killing.  If you belong to any of these six (and you do if you can claim European ancestry), your ancestors were good at four things; raping, pillaging, looting, and killing.  Oh, but the Romans and Greeks brought us civilization… yes they did, while they plundered Egypt, the middle east, and the interior of Europe. How very, very civilized…  If you aren’t Irish/Scottish, the difference between my ancestors and your ancestors is that your ancestors were building walls to keep us in the north and thanking whatever deities they followed that we lived on islands and weren’t that fond of sailing.

Second, civilization is an illusion. While Chaucer was banging out the lurid and lewd stories to fill The Canterbury Tales, our ancestors were still raping, looting, pillaging,and killing.  Furthermore, while Jane Austin was trying to make Darcy & Jane fall in love despite their Pride & Prejudice, our ancestors were still raping, looting, pillaging, and killing.  You can call it whatever you like, but that’s what we were doing.  From the Crusades to Colonization, we were busy raping, looting, pillaging, and killing.

Third, we are still raping, looting, pillaging, and killing.  We’ve just renamed it to”Spoils of War.”  It makes it sound less barbaric.

Fourth, everything we accuse other races of doing, we do… Making us hypocrites, at best.  Modern (and not so modern) white people do drugs, rob banks, knock over liquor stores and gas stations, beat up their spouses, molest children, kill people (we’ll come back to this one), and holy shit! receive welfare benefits.  Now, about the killing people, we have spent all of human history killing people, it’s still something we are very good at and it shows… The majority of serial killers and mass murderers are white.  So, not only do white people kill people because they’re angry, they do it for fun and sport with torture and rape added for good measure; we’d hate to get too far from our roots.

Finally, since we are all hypocrites, we should stop and take a look in the mirror.  We arbitrarily decided that a genetic expression was enough to base hatred on.  Instead of basing our hatred on real things (like being barbarians), we chose race (this goes for any sort of racism… black, white, asian, latino, alien, etc).  We could have picked… clubbed thumbs.  Everyone with clubbed thumbs is worth less than those without clubbed thumbs!  (so sorry, Megan Fox, but you can’t work as an actress anymore, we’ve decided you are sub-human because you have clubbed thumbs).  If you aren’t racist, not even a teeny-tiny little bit, you can ignore this one.

I abhor the concept of “race.”  It’s a genetic expression.  I don’t want people judging me because I’m white and therefore, my ancestors were really good at raping, looting, pillaging, and killing.  As such, I don’t feel I have a right to judge others based on the fact that they are not white.  I have no problem disliking people for being shitty human beings, but that has nothing to do with race and everything to do with the fact that some people are just shitty human beings.  So, as an experiment, take the day (the entire day) and stop noticing the color of people’s skin and start noticing the person wearing it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  April 19, 2015

    Very good post! And very true….all of our ancestors had horrible things in their pasts too!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

