Shoes


What has happened to shoes?  I had to buy new shoes earlier in the week.  Not only do I have to wade through name brands, colors, and leather/canvas, but now I have to think about other materials and designs?  I spend less time figuring out the reason my serial killers kill than I do buying shoes.  Here’s the problems:

Do I buy memory foam insoles?  Regular insoles?  Goga (yoga mat material) insoles?

Do I want a walking shoe?  Running shoe?  Fitness shoe?

Do the different tread patterns really do anything?  If so, do I want the little balls or do I want the ones with the breaks that make it flex?

I bought some Sketchers.  With Goga insoles.  And little balls for tread.  They feel weird.  Like the heels are lower than the toes.  And for some reason, the muscles in the back of my thighs hurt after two days, like I’m wearing reverse high heels.  Are my shoes toning the muscles in the back of my thighs without my knowledge?  (They could use it, don’t get me wrong, but it seems like there should be a warning label – May Remind You That You Have Muscles In The Back Of Your Thighs, Wear Responsibly)

Also, I had to buy them a size too big.  I’m 34, my feet stopped growing a long time ago.  In the past, I’ve bought 6 1/2 or 7 in women’s shoes.  The 7’s are usually boots or dress shoes.  Nope, I had to buy a 7 1/2 in this strange, goga-soled, heel’s are lower, with stretchy shoelaces shoes.  After two days of wearing them, I’m thinking a 7 1/2 wide would probably have been better.  I’ve never needed “wide” shoes.  I have tiny feet (it’s why I’m clumsy), so did the shoemakers of the world decide to resize all their shoes just to screw with people?

Why do we have to make everything so complicated?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. T.Vogt

     /  April 4, 2015

    be happy you wear american shoes.. I wear birkenstocks.. so I have to play with international sizes and then keep up with they discontinue what I have worn for 20 + yrs.. and try to get used to the new ones.. so instead of something I could wear in snow or rain, now they have vent holes.. !!! kinda defeats the purpose of keeping feet warm and dry.. duh..

    Like

    Reply
  2. Maria D.

     /  April 4, 2015

    Yes…shoe makers are out to make us pull our hair – shoes that I bought 2 years ago now have to be bought in a different size and like you I have not grown in years (I’m older than 34…lol)…I think it’s because the shoes get made everywhere else these days…very frustrating

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

