It’s All About Perspective


My SO and I have been house shopping.  I find the process very stressful.  Especially since we are house shopping while I attempt to write my next novel… and the closer we get to finding that perfect place, the more stressed I found myself becoming because we’d be moving while I attempted to write my next novel… and moving sucks; life, energy, and creativity out of a person.

For a month, I struggled to put words on the screen.  Then it hit me one day; this book, with it’s very intricate plot and twisty pathways, just wasn’t going to work during such a high stress period of time.  During this time, writing hasn’t been a stress reliever, it’s been a stress inducer.  A daily torture as I attempted to meet lofty word goals on a plot that required more attention than I could dedicate.

So, I switched plots (meaning, I switched serial killers).  The plot is still intricate.  The killer still demanding.  But it isn’t the draft I had been hammering out (which involved the return of several characters and a contract killer).  I moved five chapters into a new book and started over this morning.  And the words started flowing.  I banged out a modest three chapters this morning, more than I had put down in the last two weeks.

My word count goals are still lofty, to say the least, but at least it doesn’t require me to keep stopping and looking at my research.  Or require me to double check my plot lines for holes I have missed during this stress-filled writing frenzy.  The realization that some books require more attention than others is an interesting one.

And that realization has given me some clarity.  While people like to complain about Mercurial Dreams, it is actually the book that I had to put the most thought into… The plot and unanswered questions required far more work than any of the others.  Suddenly, its status has been elevated to being my personal favorite.  It really is all about perspective.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. T.Vogt

     /  March 24, 2015

    We your humble readers maybe like babies wanting something NOW.. but we are also humans with lives of our own and my lofty goal of reading 400 and reviewing all is becoming something I must adjust because I read one and have to read it’s next before going back to my reading list.. Been there, house hunting is a WITCH, you need to think what is hidden in addition to what you can see.. are they truthful as to disclosure or did they live there long enough to know what the place has been thru?? It’s a MAJOR chunk of change, then there is Moving and settling.. Talk to your publisher and see where you can possibly put a break in.. maybe divide the story into three chapter novelettes like King did.. make it a serial book.. and let us deal with one that is different.. you can’t write all out all the time.. just as I can’t read all out all the time.. I had to give myself the pep talk that see what it looks like in 6 months and go from there.. we would rather you writing then having you stressed out and giving something that some of those real twitchy reviewers will trash your whole visions as BS then say she’s stressed on this one.. personally after all your books you’d have to toss out several in a row that were bad before I’d say she lost me…we are your fans and we are more forgiving to you then you are to yourself.. You my dear are Human, feel free to act like it.. we still love ya..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

