Daylight Savings Time


For most of us in the good ol’ US of A, we’ve switched to Daylight Savings Time.  It blows.  My body has trouble adjusting to Daylight Savings Time.  I’m fine switching back to standard time in November, but the March leap forward, causes some issues.

I will start by saying I am not a morning person.  I used to be.  It used to be easy for me to wake up at the same time every day, even on weekends, with a smile on my face and the world at my feet.  Now, when I wake up, it takes about 2 hours for me to get my head wrapped around the fact that I am awake.  My tongue doesn’t want to work, my throat feels like I sucked up the Sahara during the night and have most of it still lodged there, and it is very easy for me to shut off the alarm, roll over and go back to sleep.  Unfortunately, that just delays the inevitable 2 hour time span that I spend in a state of dysfunction.  Most mornings I have to debate whether I want to be functional at 10 a.m. or noon… which is what gets me out of bed at 8.

I will also admit to being a night owl.  I always have been, even when I was a morning person I could stay up until 1 a.m. and get up at 7 a.m., all bright eyed and bushy tailed.  Days end somewhere between 1 and 2 in the morning.  If it is earlier than 1, I’m sick or have a migraine.

Now comes Daylight Savings time.  As the clock rolls around to 1 a.m., my body is still convinced that it is only midnight and I have at least another hour before I have to go to bed.  At 2 a.m., I drag my carcass into the bedroom and curl up… but it’s usually closer to 3 when I finally manage to fall asleep and I don’t sleep well those first couple of weeks.  So, when that stupid alarm goes off at 8 a.m., I’ve gotten less sleep than normal and it was crappy sleep on top of it.  My body shuts off the alarm without input from my brain, because my brain is still coping with sleeplessness.

Therefore, I have decided that Daylight Savings Time was invented to torture the poor saps that have strong internal clocks.  It might be time to move to Arizona… Unfortunately, I know very little about Arizona, except that some parts do not partake in the DST Kool-Aid and there was a mass UFO sighting there in 1997.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

