Writing & the New Computer


I replaced my old laptop.  The new one arrived just in time.  While the old one did give up the ghost, so to speak, it is still mildly functional, as long as you don’t do anything taxing.  Or mind random shut-downs…

The new machine is Windows 8.1 based.  I find the start menu pointless.  You click on something and it takes you back to the normal “computer screen” to run the program anyway… so why bother?  I get that it’s set up more like a phone or a tablet (the new laptop is not the tablet/laptop hybrid), but I have a phone and a tablet, I’d like my computer to look and feel like a computer.  If I wasn’t in love with that look and feel, I’d use a typewriter or *gasp* hand write everything.

However, there is a major problem.  I use WriteWay to compose all my novels.  The program is having issues installing/running on it.  I am in a holding pattern, waiting for their tech support to get back to me.  I’m not getting anything written or accomplished.  It is actually starting to bug me.  It’s been 4 days since I put words on paper… and I lost some of those words.  My old laptop turned them to gobbledity gook when it crashed during back-up, corrupting both files.

So, I’m twiddling my thumbs.  I am not very good at waiting.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. T.Vogt

     /  February 27, 2015

    can understand twiddling thumbs is boring and gets sore hands… don’t strain anything.. I too have a major issue with lovely blue screen stops and back when that meant nothing ever worked again generation I still have a heart stopping moment while my 30+ yr old geek says what did it say??? I am like it was a darn blue screen who has time to read the darn thing before everything goes black !!!! replacement is not an option if mine craps out I am cut off for a good 6 months to replace it.. Good luck and hope you are able to write again soon.. but practice your darts and imagine the computer geek as the bulls eye…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. The laptop I use the most has Windows 7 Ultimate…I can barely tolerate it…the new one has Windows 8 and I hate it…hate it….I wish computer companies would realize that some of us actually use our laptops to get work done and not to cruise social media all day…..lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Something you probably already checked but its solved similar problems for me … If you right-click on the program icon, do you get a list of options that include ‘run as administrator” ? choosing that has often worked for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

