Reviewing the Negative


I have spent the afternoon laptop shopping.  After two days of issues, some serious, I decided it was time to start looking for a replacement.  It soon became apparent that no matter what I bought, it was going to suck… but is it really?

The answer is no.  Yes, everyone gets a dud from time to time.  Every brand has issues.  But, I suddenly had some clarity while I was comparing brands: people are more likely to leave a review if it is negative.

I had a Dell Latitude for many years and I loved it.  I never once left a review for the product.  I am not as happy with my Asus (it would get 3 stars, my Latitude would have scored 5).  I haven’t left a review for it either.  However, if I had shelled out $600 for a machine that was nothing but problems, oh yeah, I’d be leaving a review… One-star: it’s junk!

The same goes for customer service.  I was sent a text message today from my cell phone carrier, asking me to take a quick survey: 3 questions.  I got five-star service today when I called with an issue.  I took the survey, but normally, I wouldn’t have.  I told the woman before we disconnected that I got great service, no complaints on my end, so why do I need to take a survey?  However, if they had pissed me off… Yep, I’d be more than willing to take that survey and tell them what stupid, unhelpful, and blustery assholes they were.

Anyway, that’s where I’m at today… Laptop shopping.  sigh  And thinking of customer service.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

