Measles Controversy


As a child, I had measles.  I had been vaccinated.  However, I just don’t have immunity.  Even after having the stupid disease and 12 MMR vaccinations, I still have no measles immunity.

Measles is miserable.  I don’t think I have ever been that sick in my life.  Maybe when I had Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever some years ago, but I remember more about that event.

Here’s what I remember about measles:  I was in my mom’s bed and there was a bucket beside the bed so I could throw up.

That’s it.  That’s all I remember.  Nothing more.  I don’t remember how long it lasted.  I don’t remember getting up to urinate or eat.  I remember throwing up in a bucket next to my mom’s bed.  I do remember the battle of trying to return to school.  I had to have more MMR shots.  I had to have a titter test.  And it followed me to college.  I had to get a special exemption from a doctor because I had been vaccinated… But I still didn’t have immunity.

Then there was that terrifying letter.  My 4th year of college, I got an email and a phone call all in the space of 20 minutes.  Someone in one of my history classes had just been diagnosed with measles.  And for 14 days, I was not allowed to attend any classes.  Not only was I at risk for catching the deadly disease, but I was at risk of already being infected and it was incubating inside my body.  Those 14 days turned into 21, then 28.  They included twice a day fever checks, multiple trips to student health, where I was forced to wear a mask just in case someone there had it and didn’t know it yet.  I felt like a leper, a leper that was going to have to suffer with a bucket next to a bed again as a fever raged through my body.  It also required another round of vaccinations and another titter test… still no immunity.

Thankfully, I didn’t get measles.  I did fall behind in some classes and had some work that had to be made up (one exam that couldn’t be because the professor was a dick that moved my grade from a C to a D because math is not my strongest subject… I ended up repeating the class completely because of that blasted measles scare).

And here I am again.  There’s a measles outbreak.  I’ve already received letters from my doctor, my county health department, and my state health department warning me about the risks of getting measles as an adult.  They informed me of the outbreak and my chances of catching it.  And while those chances are slim, they are large enough for them to send me a letter about it.

Why?  We practically eradicated measles once before.  Sure, there were still cases.  Cases like me where immunity just doesn’t exist.  Cases like my sister’s who got a bad dose of the vaccine and therefore caught it (the 1970 MMR was ineffective, just FYI).

Autism Speaks says there is no link between autism and vaccines.  This is echoed by several major health authorities.  But people are so afraid that everyone is lying about it, that they aren’t getting vaccines for their children.  They would rather risk their children’s lives and the lives of others, because they are convinced that vaccines are bad.  However, autism existed before vaccines.  And yes, there has been an increase in the number of cases over the last 30 years, but there has also been in an increase in Borderline Personality Disorder, depression, panic/anxiety disorder, ADHD/ADD, and Anti-Social Personality Disorder.  Are these all vaccine related as well?  Can the Flu Shot make you a psychopath?  Can a TDaP cause you to develop depression?

Or is there another candidate?  Could something else be causing this increase?  How about… Understanding.  Fifty years ago, if your kid wasn’t “normal” they were just lumped into a group of “mentally ill and deficient.”  We didn’t understand that Down’s Syndrome was caused by a genetic flaw, they were just “mentally disabled.”  An autistic child can exhibit symptoms of other “mental disabilities.”  Perhaps cases haven’t increased, we’ve just learned how to correctly diagnosis and classify them better.  Jack the Ripper wouldn’t have been diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder, although he most certainly had it.  Hell, even 20 years ago, a psychopath was still being diagnosed as having Anti-Social Personality Disorder with Psychopathic Tendencies.  The classification of Borderline has only come about in the last decade or so.

Vaccinate, don’t vaccinate, that is the question… I know where my opinion lies, think about your own… really think about it.  Don’t just rehash crap you’ve heard on TV or read on the internet.  What makes more sense; vaccines cause autism or our understanding of autism has increased enough that we can properly identify it and a host of other problems?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I have a somewhat unusual approach to vaccines – partly because I do have an autistic nephew – I do believe in vaccines but I don’t believe in “baby” vaccines – I think that we should wait until a child is at least 2 years old before we begin of round of vaccines and I think they should be more spaced out time wise than they currently are. One vaccine per office visit and no more than 1 vaccine every 2-3 weeks to let the kids body recover from the vaccine (I always get a touch of the flu when I get the flu vaccine).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

