Reviews and Advertising


Most readers don’t realize that the advertising sites authors use normally have a minimal number of reviews policy.  This means that a book has to have a certain number of reviews before they will even consider it for their newsletter or Facebook.  Also, there is a minimal-star limit.  Both these numbers are different for every site, but they have one thing in common: they use Amazon.

I’m sure they’d wave the requirements for James Patterson, but most authors aren’t James Patterson.  We aren’t even 1/20th as popular of James Patterson… They aren’t going to wave the requirements for us.

A great example: I recently ran an advert in the UK.  The requirements?  20+ reviews with a combined rating of 4.0 stars on Amazon.  Should I decide to do another advert on this site, with a different book, I only have 1 that qualifies – Elysium Dreams.

However, I’ve had lots of people tell me how much they enjoyed Explosive Dreams and Butchered Dreams.  I have the sales numbers to support this claim (Elysium, Explosive, & Butchered are currently my best sellers).  But I don’t have the reviews to support it.

This is why it is important to review books that you like.  I know, it’s a giant pain in the behind… I hate writing reviews as well, but I do it.  And I do it because I know if an author I like decides they want to advertise, they are probably going to need the reviews.  They don’t have to be long, just a few words about liking or disliking the book and a why.

Just something to remember.  🙂

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. T.Vogt

     /  February 16, 2015

    My new years resoultion was 400 books and review every one.. I am only 4 books behind and catching up quickly.. I am just waiting for your new one and I’ll have read everything with thhe exception of one.. and I don’t want to tempt fate.. ;o} Doing my best.. want me to Facebook all your books again?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

