Dealing With Pain


Everyone deals with pain differently.  I always reach a point where I decide it is time to tough out the rest of it.  I did that today.  Foregoing my Percocet for Tylenol as a form of pain management.

It was a mistake.

I have ice on my face and I started taking the Percocet again this evening.  However, as with all pain management, if you fall behind, it is hard to catch up.  In my case, that is exactly what I am trying to do… catch up.  I took my first Percocet of the day at 6 p.m.  I’m allowed to take two at a time, however, I only took one.  Three hours later, I took “the second.”  At midnight, I took two.

As of this writing, my face is still throbbing.  I took the meds two hours ago and I feel that it has only started to touch the pain.  Taking off the edge, but not actually taking it away.  Perhaps tomorrow, when I am back on schedule, it will feel better.  I had to return to soft solid foods… tonight dinner was potatoes au gratin, baked within an inch of their lives so that I could easily eat them.

I never knew there was such a thing as “traumatic surgery.”  Sure, occasionally things go wrong in the operating room, but to actually do a procedure that you know causes trauma, that’s a new one for me.  Removing the socket from the jawbone causes trauma to the bone above the jaw.

It explains a great deal.  I have a handful of sockets that will need to be removed.  I had requested they do them all at one time.  My request was denied.  I understand why now.

Also, I have gained more understanding of the mouth, the bones within the face, and a heap of other knowledge that I may never have a need to know.  Grinding your teeth in your sleep is a problem.  It causes the teeth to break.  However, a person can also bare down without grinding.  This causes tooth problems, but more importantly, it causes damage to the roots and the sockets.  The socket they cut out last week had actually had several fractures over the years.  The remodeling was starting to cause deformation of the jawbone.

I saw the tooth they removed.  It had a flat surface, as teeth are want to do, and below that, chunks of hard stuff.  It turned out the chunks were the root of the tooth.  They were so broken, they actually fell out of the socket once the tooth was removed.

Enough about that… I am going to try to get some sleep.  Wish me luck.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. You poor thing – I am so sorry you are going through this…hopefully you will feel better soon!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

