462 Words About Nipples (or Related Topics)


I stared at my computer screen for approximately nine hours today.  During that nine hours, I wrote about 462 words about nipples or nipple-related topics.  For the record, I can’t go into what a nipple-related topic is… it’s a serial killer thing.

Yesterday, I spent four hours at my computer and banged out approximately 2,000 words of serious insanity and rambling, approximately 1,500 words regarding a cannibal, and approximately 1,500 words about greediness.  Also, I wrote another 5,000 words of “main serial killer” story which is a mix of insanity and lucidity.  None of these bothered me.

Yet, my attempt to finish the last chapter needed for Summoned Dreams is being foiled by nipples.  If I have a weakness, this is it.  I don’t write sex in my books, partly because I don’t read it and partly because I can’t.  However, as a writer of serial killer thrillers, I know that there has to be at least one sexually motivated serial killer in the world of Aislinn Cain.  And I know that I have to suck it up and write it.

But my brain futzes out when I try…   This seems like a weird writer’s stumbling block.  I wrote a chapter about human stew, but I can’t write a chapter where a guy masturbates?  What the hell is wrong with me?  I’m not a prude.  I’m not repressed.  I’m not ashamed by sex.  It doesn’t make me uncomfortable to talk about it, read about it, or even draw stick figures in weird positions (I can’t draw anything other than stick figures).  One night, while playing darts with a couple of girl friends, we drew a dirty picture on the white board, with each person adding on every time they marked their score.

So, why can’t I write about it?  Why is it easier for me to make my serial killers cannibals than sexual fetishist?  That’s what went wrong with Cannibal Dreams.  My killer was a voraphile and I couldn’t write it because he was sexually excited by cannibalism.  I was fine with the cannibal part… not the sex part.

And it is one chapter.  Just one, minimum requirement of 1,200 words, and I am struggling to get it to 500.  *deep sigh*  I suck.  Sorry betas, give me one more day… I have to get this killer on the page or it doesn’t make sense.  I may have to hire someone to write the freakin’ scene.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. T.Vogt

     /  January 22, 2015

    Just make it a Lactation Fetish where he looks at women breastfeeding and dreams he’s the baby.. I don’t know hahah I do know that I breast fed my son, and I taught new Moms how to get started and navigate problems as a nurse.. if you gave me a hint I might be able to steer you in the right direction it’s that or call your nearest hospital and ask for their Lactation expert and talk to them.. or a plastic surgeon that does reconstructive surgery.. but that one may cost you..

    Like

    Reply
    • The problem isn’t the idea (he slices the nipples off his victims and encases them in rubber, because he doesn’t actually want the victim, just the nipples), it’s the writing… I can’t find the words.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

