New Years’ Resolutions


‘Tis that time again… Time for all those resolutions that will last a week and be conveniently forgotten when the moment is right.  Before I get to that, let’s review the year.

I did one book tour.  So I failed there.  I did more advertising.  Score one for me.  I did not quit smoking.  I think that makes me negative one on the year.  I did not quit drinking too much soda.  Up to negative two or down to negative two.  I did meet my publishing goals as far as novels go, but not novellas… we’ll say 1/2 point for that.  Back to negative one and half.  I can live with that.

Now for this year.  I intend to publish four novels.  I intend to do at least 2 adverts a month.  I intend to schedule 2 book tours for the year.  I might quit smoking.  I won’t quit drinking too much soda… I can only give up so many vices.

Realistically, I will publish four novels and do 2 adverts a month.  I might get the book tours scheduled, I might not.  I really am going to quit smoking, I’m turning 35 this year and it’s bad to be a woman on birth control and a smoker after 35… I’m high risk for DVT anyway and that’s before you consider the fact that I am a writer and sit on my ass a lot.  I’m not going to exercise more, I can say I will, but I won’t, so my only option is to quit smoking.  And with a little luck, I’ll get a couple of novellas done as well!

So what realistic and unrealistic goals are you setting for 2015?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. T.Vogt

     /  January 1, 2015

    For the DVT’s, make sure you get up and walk every 30 minutes or so..See about a different means of Contraceptive, if you can cut down on smoking, never go for the full quit just see if you can make it with 5 less a day..Soft drinks.. load em up with ICE then you get less soda and more water, drink a full glass of water with a little lemon every chance you get to help loose weight.. etc..
    My resolutions,
    Review Every book I read
    Save money for a emergency fund, not easy when you have a fixed income, but 10 to 20 bucks a month can be something when it’s needed, and it must meet the emergency use withdrawal by at least two others opinions..
    Remember to thank someone when they do you a kindness, they didn’t have to. That they did deserves to be recognized.
    Try to keep my temper under control remember you can’t cure stupid.. I know you can sedate it into silence if need be !!
    Do SOMETHING once a month that is frivolous or just for fun go to a movie, out for a meal etc..
    Follow the advise I give others..ie..walk the talk.

    HAPPY NEW YEARS TO ALL, THANK YOU, HADENA… YOU HAVE STARTED MY NEW YEAR OFF WITH A WONDERFUL BANG !!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

