Are You Well Read?


Recently, someone made a comment about me being “well read.”  I hate that phrase.  A lot.  Almost as much as I hate Anna Karenina.  Here’s the problem with it: it’s completely subjective.

I can say I have read many books, hundreds of thousands of books.  I have four bookcases at home with the books overflowing from the shelves and I have read all but two of them.  Those two currently sit in my “To-Be-Read” pile.  I ebook library is fairly good sized.  I’m a Kindle Unlimited member as well as an Oyster subscriber.

I know my way around the classics and have disliked my fair share, most notably the above mentioned, but I can add War & Peace to that list… To be honest, I hate Tolstoy, even his short stories irritate and annoy me.  I’m much better with some of his counterparts, I like Dostoevsky and Zamyatin’s We is prehaps one of my favorite stories of all time.    However, it isn’t just Russian classics that I like – Jeckyll & Hyde, Pride & Prejudice, The Phantom of the Opera, Tess of the D’Ubervilles, and so many others I’m not going to list here.

I also read modern stuff, I’m not a literary snob.  HP Lovecraft is my favorite author, but I love Clive Barker as well.  And Janet Evanovich, Stephen King, Dean Koontz (sometimes), Jack Kilborn (JA Konrath), and Gail Carriager.  Then there are some I prefer to watch; I don’t like Tess Gerritsen or Kathy Reichs, but I enjoy Bones and Rizzoli & Isles.  Same for Michael Crighton, I’m much better off watching one of his books than reading one.

So, I don’t know if I’m well read or not.  It depends on the standards.  By some I am.  By Stephen King’s, I’m not (in his books about writing, he has recommendations that every writer should read… I have not read but 35% of those recommendations).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I don’t think I’m well read – in regards to classics but I do read a lot and continue to read more every year

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

