Book Pricing


I think about book pricing often.  One of the things I wonder about is the Dreams novels.  Tortured Dreams and Elysium Dreams are very different books, in both style and genre.  I occasionally wonder if I could increase my retention rate by offering Tortured free and Elysium for $0.99.

Tortured is more of the classic “who done it” mystery while Elysium is definitely more thriller with a lot less “who done it”.  As a matter of fact, I – the author – boldly tell you exactly who is responsible in the second “killer’s chapter.”  Aislinn and the gang still have to figure it out, but you, the reader, know exactly who it is and can scream at them to stop overlooking clues.

Plus, I did some foreshadowing in Tortured for upcoming killers.  But that foreshadowing is far more pronounced in the rest of the series.  Those that pay attention, already have some idea about the killer in the next novel, Summoned Dreams.

Anyway, I keep stats, lots of them.  I have a massive spreadsheet that I enter every book purchase into and it has started me wondering.  Would those on the fence about trying Elysium be more likely to read it if it were $0.99?  My retention rate from Elysium to Mercurial is great.  It’s getting the readers to make the leap from book one to book two that is lacking.

As I am preparing for my writing career of 2015, these things have once again come to the forefront of my mind.  I have a list of plans that includes book tours, adverts, giveaways, etc.  So, I’m thinking about pricing…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. T.Vogt

     /  December 28, 2014

    People spend 9.99 for books and more at a grocery or walmart, they spend 3.99 – 5.99 on kindle books every day, because they can get the book cheaper without the print costs.. you are entitled to be paid for your work and you don’t have to give it away free once people find it and start reading your work you sell more. Reviews help boost your sales.. I bought your books and cheerfully reviewed them. You have a fan base, maybe a quirky one, but still a fan base… Don’t sell yourself short.. If nothing else put it on a sale for X days after that price will increase.. Yes as a kindle reader I grab freebies. I also spend 30 bucks plus on books from favorite authors and have pages of books I haven’t read yet because I am doing review reading.. give me a month and I’ll drop off on my review push and catch up on all the sequels I have bought because I liked the free one or discounted first one. I happened to like the combo of book 1 and 2 in a set, and then dived into the remainder of the series. but I just may be crazy like that..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

