A Christmas Post


I said I wasn’t going to do one of these.  Everyone is busy with the holidays; prepping, celebrating, etc… at least for those that celebrate Christmas.  However, I got to thinking about something on Christmas Eve and decided to go ahead.

For 364 days of the year, our family… god love them… drives us all nuts.  Disagreements, personality differences, resents, and whatever else all play a role in our lives for those days.

However, for those of us who celebrate a holiday, whether it’s Christmas or some other religious or non-religious festival, there is one magical day.  A day when we roll our eyes instead of screaming at each other.  A day when we just ignore the petty differences and try to get along.  For some this is easier than others… I’m a great example.

Most of the year, I have no desire to see, listen or speak to my sister.  But on Christmas, I feel the need to put aside our differences, our feuds, and our intolerance of one another and get along.  It isn’t always easy and the day after, I will be cranky about it, but for that one magical day… I can live with her, love her as a sister should, and roll my eyes instead of shouting at her when she is getting under my skin.  The day after, I’ll be pissed and I’ll have new reasons to be angry, but today, those won’t matter.

Of course, because I’m me, I write these words with a migraine because I have stressed myself into the predicament, but hey, shit happens and I have an anxiety disorder and the holidays are a special sort of stress.  I do the same thing at Thanksgiving.

My parents raised me to believe that nothing is more important than family.  I try to live this every day and fail miserably every day.  But as I go into this Christmas morning, I know that I will open my heart and I will love and I will celebrate and I will be grateful not just for the presents and the food, but for the presence of my family.

So, I leave you with this… If you cannot love your family any other day of the year, open yourself up to the possibility of a little holiday magic and remember to be grateful for them and love them unconditionally for at least one day.  I hope everyone has a magical holiday.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Merry Christmas Hadena!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,479 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

